Daily Archives: October 29, 2009

Duck soup

For those who are interested (no-one, possibly Alan) I’m on the second day of the superman sleep cycle. Five hellish days to go. My previously erratic behaviour has become even more pronounced: I’m talking to myself, walking into walls, making cups of tea without putting tea or milk in – generally acting as if I’m taking part in some sinister Marx Brothers film. A hoot, it is not.

I’m doing the superman etc. because I’m getting paid by a national newspaper to do so, and also so that I can have more time to write magazine articles, update this fine blog, work on my Radio 4 play about two Arctic explorers and so on. Have I mentioned my Radio 4 play about two Arctic explorers before? I say a Radio 4 play, but they’re unaware that I’m writing it, and will probably remain unaware, as, like most things I do, it will be abandoned halfway through. This extra time that I’ve created for myself is not being spent on all my wonderfully inept projects as I imagined it would be, but rather it’s being spent staring at walls. I’ve grown to love staring at walls.

Tonight has been set aside for a pitching frenzy. The pitching has been a bit thin on the ground recently because I’ve spent all my time banging into things and talking to myself, but tonight should see me get back into it. It should do. I’ll let you know.