In Praise of Brinkmanship

The more beady eyed and sharper minded among you may have noticed something. Notably, that I was missing a trick. The fine yet desperate idea of pitching 642 magazines is a novel one, you were probably thinking, so how about pitching that as an idea. How about writing for some of the publications listed in the Writers’ & Artists’ Yearbook about your experiences of pitching and writing for the magazines listed in the Writers’ & Artists’ Yearbook? It would be just like one of those Charlie Kaufman films, you thought, except nowhere near as good.

So that’s what I did. I pitched the idea at 2 am this morning when I was drunk and mad in the kitchen and woke up this morning to a commission from a writing magazine to write a couple of articles about my experiences.

Just a slip of a post today as I have a lot on. I understand that a lot of regular readers – and there are lots of you, probably too many in fact – are desperate to hear about the 70 magazines I was going to pitch over the weekend. An update will be forthcoming.

2 responses to “In Praise of Brinkmanship

  1. “Being a professional blog writer is not all Moët and chicken nuggets though, due to server and hosting fees, I made minus four hundred and ninety dollars last financial year but my wife works three jobs and has a credit card so it all balances out.”

  2. I would prefer it if you were in praise of brigmanship. That is being the brig of a ship. That is not just because I don’t know what brinkmanship is.

Leave a Reply

